French Fries

Here is a neat item.

I got this french fry cutter as an incentive when I ordered a meat grinder a while back.

I use the fry cutter more than I have used the meat grinder.

I even busted the top I have used it so much.

I have to make sure I shield my hand from the crack in the top with a towel now. That crack can grab the skin on your palm and hurt like the dickens.

It makes perfect fries.

Here is a lower fat recipe I use and they turn out well.

About 4 medium to large potatoes
2 Tablespoons olive oil
1 Tablespoon onion flakes
1 Tablespoon dried oregano
1 Teaspoon dried basil
1 Teaspoon garlic pepper
Salt to taste

Put the cut potatoes in a freezer bag and top with all other ingredients but salt. Close the bag and shake well making sure the oil gets all over potatoes.

Bake in a single layer on greased jelly roll pan, 425 degrees about 30 minutes stirring a couple of times. Salt to taste when done.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katiez
    Oct 24, 2007 @ 15:31:26

    I always ‘bake’ my ‘fries’! Never thought to add onions flakes…sounds yummy. Of course, I don’t have an official ‘fry’ cutter so mine probably wouldn’t be as good ;-(

    Reply

  2. Sue-coffeepot
    Oct 25, 2007 @ 05:13:51

    Yeah, Katiez yours probably are all over the place..lol

    Before I got my cutter I didn’t do fries much..too tedious to cut up for my tastes.

    but I used to do wedges. easy

    Reply

  3. Susan from Food Blogga
    Oct 25, 2007 @ 20:20:56

    Would you believe I have never seen a fry cutter? I promise, I don’t live under a rock.

    Reply

  4. Phillip Avery
    Dec 23, 2007 @ 21:05:55

    Well said. I would be happy to read anything else you might contribute on this subject.

    Reply

  5. carolyn
    Dec 18, 2009 @ 14:06:33

    Where did you get that fry cutter? I had one just like it but my husband broke it trying to cut sweet potatoes. Does it have a brand name on it I could look up. I loved that thing! ;-( That the first pohto I have seen of one like I had anywheres.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

