Happy Birthday to Me Almost


It is almost my birthday.

I have always wanted to try sugar coating my violet blooms

so I thought it was a great opportunity to make a cake with the sugared blooms.

It is just a basic white cake with white icing and I put homemade cherry preserves between the layers.

I split the recipe in half because I wanted a smaller cake and not three layers.

To sugar the violets you just brush them with egg white and sprinkle with sugar. You should use fine sugar, but I didn’t have any so I processed regular in a blender. They might have turned out better if I had fine sugar.

White Cake

1 cup unsalted butter — (2 sticks)
2 cups sugar
3 1/2 cups cake flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup milk
8 egg whites

cream butter & sugar till fluffy, sift together bkg pwdr and salt and flour, combine milk and vanilla, alternate ingreds while mixing, whip egg whites till peaks form, carefully blend into batter, bake at 325 for 20-25 minutes (in three 9 inch pans that are buttered & floured). Frost however you like.

Best Vanilla Icing

1/4 cup solid Crisco shortening
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla
3 cups confectioners’ sugar — sift if lumpy
1/4 cup milk

Put all in a mixer and whip for 5 minutes until light and spreadable

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Nov 06, 2007 @ 16:30:00

    They look lovely…. But how did they TASTE?

    Happy Birthday to you (almost) !!!! And many more!!

    Reply

  2. sue
    Nov 06, 2007 @ 20:02:13

    Katie they tasted great to me.

    Sugary and sweet, although a little grainy but I didn’t mind.

    Next time I will use fine sugar and see the difference.

    The cake recipe has always been one of my favorites.

    Reply

  3. Caffienated Cowgirl
    Nov 07, 2007 @ 05:22:51

    Oh those are lovely…I think sugared violets are a tremendous statement. A real bouquet for a cake…unlike the icing roses. Happy Birthday!

    Reply

  4. cooknkate
    Nov 09, 2007 @ 11:33:21

    Happy almost birthday!! That is a seriously delicious looking cake.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
