Thanksgiving Experiment “Butter Crescent Rolls”


I have been experimenting with recipes for Thanksgiving.
One I am going to use comes from the November 1995 issue of Southern Living for “Butter Crescent Rolls”.


This issue has a beautiful pastry cornucopia on the cover that I might try to stuff these lovely crescents within with some fresh oregano for garnish. It should make a lovely centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

They turned out so good, but I did make them larger than the recipe called.

It should have made three dozen and I only got two dozen, but as you can see they cover the whole palm of my hand. They still cooked in the recipe time allotted.

I was afraid the 1/2 cup sugar was excessive, but I followed the ingredients and they were really a great roll.

“Butter Crescent Rolls”

2- 1/4 ounce envelopes active dry yeast
3/4 C warm water
1/2 C sugar
1/2 C Butter, melted
2 eggs beaten
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
4 C all purpose flour
1/2 C butter softened

Proof Yeast and water in a cup for 5 minutes

Combine the yeast with the next 4 ingredients then add 2 C flour.

Stir well then gradually add the remaining flour to make a soft dough.

Turn dough out and knead 4 times then place in a greased bowl, turning to grease top of dough.

Cover and allow to rise 1 hour in a warm area.

Punch dough down and divide into 3 equal parts.

Roll each part into a 12″ circle the brush with remaining butter. Cut circles into 12 wedges and roll like you do crescents.

Place on greased sheets point side down, allow to rise about 20 minutes, bake 12 minutes in 375 degrees until puffed and brown.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Nov 15, 2007 @ 00:42:53

    They look delicious! What a nice-looking addition to your Thanksgiving table.

    Reply

  2. mel
    Nov 16, 2007 @ 20:14:05

    I’ll have me some of those too! Yummmy

    Reply

  3. JMom
    Nov 21, 2007 @ 17:32:42

    Those look really delicious! I wasn’t planning on making rolls for Thanksgiving, but you just made me want some 🙂

    happy thanksgiving!

    Reply

  4. Freya
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 11:11:22

    We don’t have dinner rolls in the UK so I always scoff plenty of the them when we eat at Paul’s parents in the US. I must give these a try as they seem quite within my skill range!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Italian Crescent Roll Casserole «

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
