Homemade Is Better, Wreaths and Granola

I love things homemade.

Here is a wreath I made from a cardboard form I cut out, pinecones gathered from our woods, and a hot glue gun.

Just glue the cones on the frame all pointing in the same direction. Double glue in two layers of cones. You will want to do this outdoors because it is messy and bugs are sometimes in the pinecones. You also need a lot of pinecones so don’t slack in gathering.

And here is my homemade granola which is so good with milk! I love to add pretzel pieces for a salty sweet cereal.

Granola

2 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1/4 cup flake coconut
1/3 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup chopped pretzels
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
4 tablespoons butter –
4 tablespoons honey

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

In a bowl, combine the oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, and pecans, coconut and pretzels, toss to mix. In a saucepan over low heat, melt the butter, add the honey and stir to blend. Pour over the above mixture and stir to blend.

Spread the granola out on a baking sheet and bake 15 minutes then stir and add cranberries. Return to oven another 15 minutes or until browned and crunchy. Cool to room temperature before serving. Stored in an airtight container.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula from Only Cookware
    Dec 11, 2007 @ 21:19:56

    Wish I had some pinecones around me right now and I would make that. It’s so simple and yet looks quite elegant.

    Reply

  2. Jeff
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 12:57:15

    FANCAY wreath!

    Reply

  3. Shayne
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 22:22:47

    your Granola has a beautiful color to it, I want to reach through my monitor and grab a handful.

    Reply

  4. Katie
    Dec 16, 2007 @ 13:04:23

    Pretty wreath! My dogs like to play with the pinecones – and chew out the seeds. It’s wonderful – they have a ‘toy’ tree right in the garden! The granola sounds yummy!

    Reply

  5. Kalyn
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 20:45:48

    Hi there! Nice to see your name pop up on a comment. Sorry about the slow dial-up and even more so about the personal problems. I hope things are getting better. I had dial-up for a long time so I know how awful it is! Best wishes!

    Reply

  6. clumsy
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 12:07:21

    Nice wreath!! I’ve never made my own granola and been happy with it… so I’ll have to give yours a try! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

