Laura Calder’s Chocolate Mousse- CCC

The Feb. 2008 Cooking Club Challenge
link here
was to make Laura Calder’s Chocolate Mousse.

The problem I had…. I am egg phobic..mayo..mousse..raw egg..

I decided to melt the chocolate then cool a bit to beat in the yolk mixture. I then brought it back over the double boiler for about 4-5 minutes beating all the while. Then I folded in the egg white mixture and poured into individual martini glasses.

It turned out wonderful, but I had to omit the orange zest because I was out of oranges.

Hubby agreed I must make this mousse again, and perhaps the next round make sure I have orange zest.

Laura Calder’s Chocolate Mousse
INGREDIENTS:

  • 5 ounces dark chocolate
  • 4 egg whites
  • 2 tbsps sugar
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 tsp orange zest
  • 1 tbsp Cointreau
  • DIRECTIONS:
    Melt the chocolate over a bain-marie (double boiler) until smooth. Beat the egg whites to soft peaks, sprinkle over the sugar, and continue beating to a stiff meringue, a minute or two longer.
    Beat the yolks with the orange zest and Cointreau in a bowl.
    Whisk the chocolate into the yolks. Fold in a spoonful of the whites, then pour the chocolate onto the remaining whites and fold gently to combine evenly. Pour the mousse into a serving bowl. Wrap well with plastic, and refrigerate at least a few hours. Serve garnished with whipped cream, chocolate shavings, and a little orange zest.

    1 Comment (+add yours?)

    1. Cristina
      Sep 15, 2010 @ 10:24:38

      Looks great! I think that this mousse with some orange zest would be perfect for winter time.

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

        My Flickr Photos

