Baked Orange Chicken and Couscous


Being out of oranges and couscous recently as I shopped, I stocked up on both items.

Now that I was overflowing in couscous and orange I decided I needed to come up with another dish to use them both.

1 orange –
I took the juice, pulp, and zest from one orange and cooked it with 1/4 cup sugar on the stove top until thick to come up with a marmalade of sorts.

2 orange –
I then take 1/4 cup corn flakes with the zest from one orange and 1 tablespoon flour and popped them in a food processor with one of my home dried garden chilies.

With the juice from that orange I soaked two boneless, skinless chicken breasts and cut them into 1 inch pieces to dredge into the cornflakes mixture.
Bake the chicken pieces on a sprayed cookie sheet at 350 for about 10 minutes then stir and bake another 10 minutes until juices run clear.

3 orange –
Saute 1/2 chopped onion with 1 rib chopped celery and the zest from the orange. Take the juice and enough water from that orange to make one cup then pour over the sauted onions with any pulp you can retrieve without the white pith. Bring to a boil and then add 1 cup couscous. Remove from heat and cover for 5 minutes.

4 orange –
Now saute the other 1/2 onion with 2 cloves garlic. Add the marmalade and 1 tablespoon plum sauce and some soy sauce with enough juice and zest from this orange to make a thick sauce. Add a pinch of hot pepper flakes and salt to taste.

To serve make a bed of the couscous and top with the baked chicken. Pour the sauce over all and..

5 orange –
garnish with orange slices and fresh cilantro.

At least I used up a few of my oranges….. and it tasted great

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Francie
    Feb 15, 2008 @ 00:25:39

    Ok, this looks yummy. And I love to say the word “couscous.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

