Ms. Ray to My Rescue Again!

I have quite a bit of pumpkin puree that I grew, pureed, and froze from last year so when I saw Rachael Ray doing a chicken dish with a pumpkin chipotle polenta I figured I had to give it a try. Ms. Ray to rescue my pumpkin dilemma!

I am so glad I tried the dish, as the polenta is so good and the grilled chicken and pineapple salsa complement it very well.

I am not sure I got all her ingredients just right but I believe it was close.

I did add a bit of honey to the salsa also.

I also had a chicken breast and some salsa left over so the next day I just chopped up the chicken and added it and the salsa with some mayo and mustard for a refreshing pineapple chicken salad. Very good for two days worth of meals.

The Recipe ( I can’t remember what she called it but I would call it-
Barbeque Chicken with Pumpkin Polenta and Salsa

FOR CHICKEN
4 skinless boneless chicken breasts
1 T grill seasoning ( I don’t buy the stuff and just used a saltless seasoning mix I put together )
2 palms chili powder
1 palm cumin
1 palm coriander
2 T brown sugar
evoo
FOR SALSA
1/4 grilled pineapple
bell pepper ( she used yellow I had green), chopped
tomato, chopped
onion (she used red but I only had white), chopped
lime juice
salt and pepper
evoo
FOR POLENTA
1 chipotle pepper ( she removed the seeds but I didn’t)
2 teaspoons adobo sauce
2 C chicken stock
1 C milk
1 cup polenta ( I used cornmeal) 3 to one ratio on the liquid vs.. The cornmeal
1 cup pumpkin puree
2 teaspoon honey
3 T butter
salt and pepper

FOR CHICKEN- mix together your seasonings in a freezer bag. Drizzle the breasts with the evoo and put them in the bag to cover with the seasonings. Heat up a stovetop grill to medium and grill the chicken until done.

FOR SALSA- Peel and core the pineapple and then grill the wedges on your stovetop grill. Take it off and let it cool then chop and add with all other chopped ingredients. Drizzle with lime juice and season with salt and pepper.

FOR POLENTA– Chop one chipotle pepper ( she seeded the chili) and put in a saucepan with the stock, milk, and adobo sauce. Bring it to a boil on the stovetop and then add your cornmeal (polenta) and cook until thick.
Add your pumpkin puree and honey and butter ( I omited the butter and it was still very good) . Salt and pepper to taste.

Serve the chicken on a bed of polenta (heaven) with the salsa.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brave Sir Robin
    Feb 24, 2008 @ 15:11:37

    Was that a 30 minute meals recipe?

    I love her, and I watch all of her travel shows, but I usually skip that (30 minute meals) show.

    I guess I’ll start DVD-ing it, that sounds spectacular.

    Was the polenta amazing, because it sound like it was.

    Reply

  2. Sue
    Feb 24, 2008 @ 18:56:51

    Yes BSR that was a 30 minute meal and the polenta made the dish..it was so good.

    Reply

  3. Brave Sir Robin
    Feb 26, 2008 @ 18:25:47

    MMMMmmm,

    I’ll let you know how it turned out.

    🙂

    Reply

  4. katie
    Mar 08, 2008 @ 16:44:23

    What an interesting idea! I have rather a lot of pumpkin in MY freezer as well – and have been looking for more ways to use it up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

