Oregano Season!

I want my readers to see what a beautiful hill of oregano I harvested from my herb garden just this morning.

Big lovely leaves with that earthy oregano scent.

I do love oregano.

I read that the month of March was the warmest on record, and I feel it must have been true for me to harvest such quality oregano this early in our season. Our high mountains season is normally two weeks behind areas only an hour drive from us.

I decided I had to make a spaghetti sauce with my fresh oregano and some frozen slow roasted tomatoes from last year.

I must have used about a 3/4 cup of chopped oregano along with frozen basil from my freezer.

I added some garlic and parsley I had purchased that needed to be used pronto, and a bit of ground fennel seed. I rarely think ahead when grocery shopping but just try to stock up on items I know I use a lot because I don’t shop as often as most people.

I also used ground beef and when I use meat like that I always drain well then rinse the meat under warm water.

It might sound like a rinsed beef would water things a bit ,but I have found it doesn’t do any harm to sauces and gives me an even leaner ground beef.

It turned out wonderful, although thrown together without thought of a recipe. When I make my spaghetti this evening I plan to top it with parmesan cheese.

Yummy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kalyn
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 16:54:58

    Wow, what a haul of oregano. I had to trim my plant way back so I can move it.

    Reply

  2. Sue (coffeepot)
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 11:26:09

    Hey Kalyn! Mine is trimmed back now too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

