Leftovers and Pat a Cake

I love leftover mashed potatoes made into potato cakes. Usually they are fried crisp in tons of oil.

Oil is my enemy at this time and will continue to be until I shed unwanted pounds, so I took my leftover Blue Cheese Mashers and played pat a cake with my oven.

pat a cake

Just take your cold refrigerated potatoes and dredge in flour after forming cakes. Season well and place them on a sprayed baking sheet. Spray the tops of the cakes well with your spray. I used olive oil spray, and then baked in a 400 degree oven about 15 minutes. Turn each cake over and bake until browned ( about another 15).

Top with fresh chopped herbs before serving.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. danamo
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 14:52:51

    i made jiffy cornbread this morning with lo-fat sour cream, and added some frozen corn. YUMMY. We had it with a fried eggs and some thin-sliced rosemary ham. Sunday, for sure.

    your potato cakes look awesome.

    Reply

  2. Sue (coffeepot)
    May 01, 2008 @ 07:08:08

    Hey danamo, The cornbread sounds great and I will have to try it too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

