Food in My Hair , As Opposed to Hair in My Food

As a teen, I loved the look of frosted hair. You know the light streaks against a darker hair shade.

As time is no longer my friend and I look at the years and naturally frosting hair, graying, I decided I might like to do something about it.

Being the evolving organic nauralist that I am slowly but surely becoming, I felt there must be some way to color hair without all the store bought chemicals.

I have even taken to house cleaning with baking soda or vinegar solutions of late.

Something food or herbal related to hair dye should be out there. Foodstuff and hair..they match, especially when finding hair in foodstuff.

Like the doggie waterbowl I saw that said.
“A dog rules this kitchen and all recipes taste better with a pinch of dog hair.”

Can you imagine? Pinch of dog hair… uggg!

I thought of beet juice hair dying but figured hubby might not take to coming home and finding my head pickled one day, with a combination of beet juice and cheap red wine.

I did an online search.

I could find henna for dark hair.

For info about henna go to… Link.
This is a tattoo artists henna page, but it does tell about henna and how the products labled henna will have other chemicals and how henna does not come in a slew of color.

Then I found Indian gooseberry and coconut oil.
Link

I needed something dark.

I did find some other interesting “facts”..oh gosh from the internet.
I should say I found a barrage of maybe true, maybe mindless, information.

Then a natural dye for lighter hair
Link
which I might try to see if it helps the gray a bit.

Quote from above link

1 tsp ground ginger, i tsp dry mustard, 1 tsp curry powder and a pinch of tumeric. (be careful with tumeric, hair can turn clown yellow if you use too much. all of these ingredients are spices that can be bought in any grocery store. i put the spices in a bowl, pour one cup of boiling water over them, cover tightly and let cool. next strain saving the liquid. pour over washed and dried hair about 5-6 times. i use a basin in the sink or tub to catch the mixture then pour back into the cup and repeat 5-6 times. don’t rinse,squeeze out excess water cover with shower cap and leave on about 30 minutes. rinse with cool water lastly i add a dash of vinegar to cup of cool water and pour over and leave in. acts like a conditioner and keeps the color in better. the mixture doesn’t stain my skin,sink or hands. there is some dripping under the shower cap so have a towel handy. this gives me a natural light golden blonde hair color, and my darker hair blends in nicely.it washes out with each shampoo so has to be done each time. the gray is comletely covered using this method, even better than hair dye which often won’t cover the temples or the sides. the spices and the vinegar condition it and idon’t have to use a conditioner.it’s recommended to a patch test with herbs and spices first.”

On going without shampoo – not sure I could handle that one.
Link

Some natural shampoo recipes where we are also told to use eggwhite as a facial.
Link

Food in my hair …….and on my face!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cooknkate
    May 14, 2008 @ 08:42:45

    I have been exploring lots of ways to use food products as beauty treatments. The egg white facial really does work! I have done that for years. It’s messy but it works nicely.

    A mix of ground almond and cornmeal makes a nice scrub for skin. Use it gently! White sugar and cornmeal also is nice. This one makes for a nice overall body scrub too.

    An overripe avocado that isn’t too appetizing for eating is perfect as a hair mask. Mash it up well, add a few drops of almond or olive oil and massage it into your hair then cover with a shower cap. Plain old mayonnaise is also a good option if your hair is really dry. Leave it on for an hour or more while you relax with a book.

    Plain white sugar is great as a hand scrub; add some almond oil and a few drops of a scented oil such as lavendar or bergamot and shake to mix well. Moisten it a little then run over hands gently. Rinse away and add some moisturizer. This is a great ‘after gardening’ treatment.

    Reply

  2. Sue
    May 14, 2008 @ 17:15:51

    Oh Kate what a goldmine of information! Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

