Birthday Party Theme

My grandchildrens birthday party was May 25th at a local park.

Their mom Tina wanted a theme, so when she asked me to do the cakes I was stumped at first.As I thought on it, I asked what she thought about a jungle theme with monkeys.

I was thinking about that game, Barrel Of Monkeys, and how I could do cakes with
palm trees and place a monkey from the game on the cakes to look like monkeys were
hanging from palm trees.

Tina agreed it was a good idea.

We had a centerpiece of pineapple, banana, and coconut with balloons.

I did each grandchild a separate cake. Fraternal twins are double the fun you know.

I also did a large cake for everyone else. I am not a professional cake baker
but everyone felt they turned out very good. Tasted great too.
jungle theme
To carry the theme farther I dipped pineapple pieces in chocolate and sprinkled them with coconut.
We split a coconut to use as a dip bowl for chips and nestled it in flaked coconut so it would
sit straight.

Of course, one of the games had to be Barrel Of Monkeys to see which child could link the most monkeys.

It is funny how different each twin is.

Xavier being the most outgoing twin dug right into his cake.
dig in
Kingston took his time and seemed to be admiring his cake, but finally dug in also.

It was a wonderful time! What a privilege to be able to bake my grandchildren their first birthday cake. It will be a happy memory in my mind for life.

If you are ever stumped for a birthday theme, why not use a Barrel Of Monkeys?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. anon
    May 29, 2008 @ 17:36:59

    Looks like a barrell of fun.

    Reply

  2. Sue (coffeepot)
    May 29, 2008 @ 17:58:59

    It was a blast anon

    Reply

  3. sher
    May 30, 2008 @ 04:37:14

    What a wonderful thing you did for them. I love the cakes. Why can’t I have my own individual cake like that for my birthday! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Sue (coffeepot)
    May 30, 2008 @ 06:16:35

    Hi Sher, I guess we both could if we wanted! Maybe we will someday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

