Independence Days Update

May 31, 2008 at 5:25 am 6 comments

My Independence Days Update.

You can find Sharon’s update here with other updates in the comment section.

1.Plant something - More cucumbers and tomatoes have been placed in the garden. I planted Henderson Limas and the zucchini to feed the nation. The limas have sprouted and I love the little lima children.
lima babies

The potato, corn and green beans are up.
potato
Some of our peppers are blooming.
pepper bloom
2. Harvest something - We harvested all sort of lettuce, green onion, radishes and herbs

3. Preserve something - I dried several herbs this past week.

4. Prep something- I got information on growing upside down tomatoes which I am going to try. You can see what a great idea by going to Eclectic Edibles

5. Cook something - Always cooking but have been a bit lame on the subject since getting my new high speed. I can’t even explain the freedom I feel without being bound with dialup.

6. Manage your reserves- Spent much time with newspapers and checking local sales since I always stock up sale items when taking my shopping trips. When it takes an hour to drive to stock up we make the trip as little as possible. I am bad about just circling things on the flyers and carry them with me and not making lists. My organization skills could use some tips and patience on this. We weeded the flour beds and gardens.

7. Work on local food systems - Afraid not this week. I intend to look into a local stand that supplies local fresh eggs and take a visit to a local working meal for flour (correction I meant to say working mill not working meal here…do I have food on the brain or what!). Not enough time in my days.

I’ll leave this post with some beautiful flowers blooming at my home right now.

peony
clemetis
iris
laural

Entry filed under: Go Green. Tags: , , , , .

Birthday Party Theme Italian Crescent Roll Casserole

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kalyn  |  May 31, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Hooray for high speed connection! Now we can hear from you more often.

    Reply
  • 2. Sue (coffeepot)  |  May 31, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Yes Kalyn I so look forward to joining in WHB again!

    Reply
  • 3. shwankie  |  June 1, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    Sue,

    Sounds like a busy, productive weekend. Where is the local working mill? I would LOVE to visit one of those, but I have no idea where I’d even being looking!

    Reply
  • 4. Sue (coffeepot)  |  June 1, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    hey shwankie

    The old mill is about 15 miles from my home and they do still grind cornmeal and flour there.

    I am not sure the wheat they use is local however. It is something I am looking into.

    Reply
  • 5. Lesha Postlewaite  |  February 19, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    I went over this website and I think you have a lot of good info, bookmarked (:.

    Reply
  • 6. Haley  |  October 21, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    You are so interesting! I don’t think I’ve truly
    read through something like this before. So wonderful to discover another person with some genuine thoughts
    on this subject. Really.. thank you for starting this up.
    This site is one thing that is required on the web, someone with
    some originality!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posting Calendar

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Currently on Coffee & Cornbread

Coffee & Cornbread Archives

My Flickr Photos

thing2

thing1and2

thing1

More Photos

Blog Visits

  • 212,064 hits

Food Blog Search

What Spice Are You

You Are Cilantro

The bad news is that
there are some people
who can't stand you.
The good news is that
most people love you more
than anything else in the world.
You are distinct, unusual, fresh,
and very controversial.
And you wouldn't have it
any other way.

What Spice Are You?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

