Independence Days Update.

Here is my very late Independence Days Update from last week. You can find Sharons update here.

1.Plant something – more green beans, more radish, eggplant
2. Harvest something – radish, lettuce, all sorts of herbs
3. Preserve something -mint jelly, froze a large batch of pesto, more herbs dried and frozen
4. Prep something – nothing
5. Cook something – new! mint jelly for lamb, first time I ever did mint jelly although I have done blackberry and crab apple. I thought I might have gotten too much food color in it as I was working, but once finished I had to put it in the window to show off the beautiful color for this photo. Isn’t it beautiful?

Here is the recipe although I only got 3 jars and it claims to make 4 jelly jars. Got this off the net from somewhere I think. I can’t remember.


Mint Jelly

1 1/2 cups fresh mint leaves and stems — washed
4 drops green food coloring — (4 to 6)
2 1/4 cups water
3 1/2 cups sugar
2 Tbsp. lemon juice (in the bottle)
1 pouch liquid pectin — (3 ounce)

You’ll need half-pint-canning jars with bands and new lids and a large cooking pot or canner. Sterilize jars while working with jelly mixture.
Makes 4 jars

*Make sure mint is washed clean. Chop finely. Combine with water in a saucepan. Bring to a boil and remove from heat. Cover and let stand for 10 minutes. To remove the mint, strain through cheesecloth (triple layer) or jelly bag. Add food coloring.

Combine 1 3/4 cups of mint juice, lemon juice, and sugar in a 4-quart saucepan. Bring to a boil over high heat while stirring frequently. Add liquid pectin and continue stirring until you return to a full boil. Boil 1 minute. Remove from heat and fill hot 1/2 pint jars with mixture. Do not fill to the top, leave about 1/4-inch headspace. Place hot lids on jars and screw on bands. Process in boiling water canner for 5 minutes.

6. Manage your reserves– cleaned out freezer and sorted by items
7. Work on local food systems – Gave hay to neighbor for his beef cattle. He had to cut and bale it though. I got my field mowed.

I have probably forgotten many things but that is what I remember. These ID posts have turned out to be good for my motivation and journal skills.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kayla
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 13:25:50

    What do you use mint jelly for? I have some at home and have no ideas of creative ways to use it–other than on an English muffin or toast. Any suggestions?

    Reply

  2. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 16:17:10

    Hey Kayla. Just make up a mint sauce for leg of lamb or chops. There are many variations out there. This one comes from cooks.com

    MINT JELLY SAUCE

    6 oz. mint jelly
    1/3 stick butter
    1/2 oz. green creme de menthe
    1 oz. Brandy
    1/2 tsp. marjoram

    Mix all ingredients together in small pan. Cook for 20 minutes on medium-low flame. Serve over Leg of Lamb or Lamb Chops.

    Reply

  3. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 16:19:25

    You know I have never tried it yet but I keep thinking I might be able to add vinegar to it and make a pretty neat salad dressing too. I will have to try that.

    Reply

  4. alissa
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 05:02:41

    you have a very pretty blog!! great recipes – i have to make the mint jelly soon!! thanks for sharing

    Reply

  5. Sue
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 07:12:25

    TY alissa!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
