Independence Days Update

I don’t have a lot to update.

You can view Sharon’s update and many others in the comment section here.

Planting – I did finally plant my cilantro babies, and I am letting some go to seed for next year.

cilantro blooms aren’t they pretty? delicate like.

Harvesting – I am still harvesting the same things from last update…OH yeah, I harvested some pitiful excuse called garlic.

pitiful excuse for garlic

I learned something new..don’t plant garlic in the same place next year!

Cook something new and manage reserves -Trying to use up my crabapple jelly from last year I added vinegar to some of it and found out it made a nice salad dressing.

Squash and cucumber are in bloom. Tomatoes and potatoes are getting ready to bloom.


squash blossom

Everything is a little late this year because of the weird weather we had April/May.

Still weeding and watering the gardens and trying to remember to throw stuff on the compost “heap”. I say “heap” because hubby is too covered up right now to build a bin.

Maybe I need to learn some hammer skills?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jancd
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 21:24:23

    We just built a three-sided bin and just throw it in the open end. This makes is easy to turn and keeps it all in a neat little place. I’m pretty lazy about turning it, but just love to dig deep into to bottom and get that “real” dirt every spring.

    Reply

  2. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 08:00:43

    hey jancd that is a good way to do it. I probably will be slack turning the stuff too but only time will tell.

    Reply

  3. Wendy
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 17:09:42

    Very cool what you did with the crabapple jelly! Now that’s thinking out of the box :).

    Reply

  4. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 18:48:58

    Thanks Wendy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
