Experiment – PPN

Link to Roundup
I decided since I have zucchini beginning to come in that I wanted to try and bake some stuffed blossoms, which I had never done before, with some sort of pasta and zucchini.

Experiment follows –
6 zucchini blossoms
2 ounces montery jack cheese
1 cup fat free cottage cheese
1 tablespoon fresh chopped basil
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
pinch salt


I started out by getting my blossoms and washing and removing the stems inside the blossom. If a blossom had a small zucchini attached I kind of fanned it by making thin cuts through it.

I stuffed each blossom with a small chunk of Montery Jack Cheese and then piped in a filling of of cottage cheese mixture on top of that.

For piping the filling mix together the above garlic powder, basil, salt and cottage cheese. I had cottage cheese mixture left over for the sauce.

I then placed them on a sprayed baking stone and baked in a 400 degree oven until collapsed and browned around the edges.

I had to allow them to cool a bit to get up with a spatula, I wanted to push together all that cheese that had melted out.

Then for the roasted vegetables I placed in my cast iron chicken fryer

1/2 head cauliflower broken up
1 small zucchini diced
2 each spring onions sliced along with tops
3 tablespoons jarred roasted red pepper
2 cloves garlic minced
pinch salt and pepper

I sprayed the top with cooking spray and covered with my lid. Baked about 40 minutes at 400 degrees.
With the leftover cottage cheese mixture I added about another tablespoon of chopped basil. 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes and 1/2 quart canned tomatoes and processed it in a food processor.

I tossed the hot linguine with this processed sauce, the roasted vegetables, and served the blossoms on the side topped off with grated montery jack cheese.

Turned out very good. Only served two but..

I deem the experiment a success and this is my entry to Presto Pasta Nights hosted this week by Hillary at Chew on That. Check for the roundup around June 27th and remember that next week the founder of PPN will be the host, Ruth at Once Upon A Feast.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Coffee and Vanilla
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 17:01:26

    Looks really good… for a while now I see zucchini blossoms all over the food blogs… I will have to try them finally… I love your recipe.
    Margot

    Reply

  2. Hillary
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 17:06:52

    Oh my goodness, those zucchini flowers are beautiful! So happy you entered a dish into this week’s Presto Pasta Nights! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 18:13:17

    Margot and Hillary, Thank you and they were very good.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Independence Days Update «
  5. JMom
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 16:15:08

    That sounds delicious! I’ve been meaning to try cooking the zucchini blossoms but was always afraid to mess up the plant and have it not put out anymore zucchini.

    Reply

  6. coffeepot
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 16:23:56

    JMom, I have 6 plants so I am not afraid it won’t produce more.

    Reply

  7. Glenna
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 00:02:15

    Fabulous! I really love that plate. Everything looks so fresh and wonderfully diggable into, if you know what I mean.

    Reply

  8. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 04:48:24

    Thanks Glenna it was very good too.

    Reply

  9. Kevin
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 07:07:44

    That meal looks good. I have been wanting to try zucchini blossoms.

    Reply

  10. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 07:09:46

    Hey Kevin this was the first time I tried them and they were good. I think the cheese would have stayed in better if I had just had bigger blossoms but I was impatient to try them so they were kind of small.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Presto Pasta Night #69! | Chew On That
  12. Ruth
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 19:13:42

    So pretty I can hardly imagine eating them…then again…Thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Night.

    Reply

  13. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 19:25:18

    Thank you Ruth for a great event

    Reply

  14. Ali
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 18:28:20

    That looks fabulous — a great alternative to fried zucchini blossoms. My zucchini plants a growing like crazy, but no blossoms yet up here, our cool spring slowed things down. I will have to try this recipe!
    ALI IN MAINE

    Reply

  15. coffeepot
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 17:31:36

    Hey Ali the reason I didn’t deep fry them was because I am trying to eat healthier…I emphasize ” trying”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

