Independence Days Update

Sharon’s update with other updates in the comment section can be found here

1.Plant something – more green beans

The potatoes are blooming, some of our Blue Lake green beans are blooming and we will soon have summer squash.


potato blooms

bean blooms

squash

2. Harvest something – cabbage, zucchinni, lots of herbs, hot peppers.
.
3. Preserve something – frozen bread for bread crumbs, frozen herbs

4. Prep something – nothing but…( getting instructions for a small green house.)

5. Cook something – new! Zucchinni Blossoms . Read about it here.

6. Manage your reserves- ..Managing my raport with my neighbors, I guess that qualifies as a reserve since I have been working on it for a while.

Using more of my crab apple jelly in this ice cream.I have got to get that jelly used up because our crab apple trees are full this year.


small sample view of crab apples

7. Work on local food systems – More hay for neighbors beef cattle. I don’t believe he could mow without a tractor. Neither could we. (but we could build a fench and put cattle in to graze someday if necessary)

8. Manage waste- Still throwing on compost heap .

9. Learn something new – How to stuff Zucchini blossoms .

Biggest Independence- Freedom, I stopped attending a local church because of this man standing behind a pulpit and pointing out “others sins” when he wasn’t a bit better than anyone else.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JMom
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 16:12:39

    We’re going to have our first batch of zucchini for dinner tonight! I’m so excited 🙂

    amen to #10. We stopped going for the same reason. It is such a shame as I wish the girls will have more exposure to church then they can make their own decisions.

    Reply

  2. coffeepot
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 16:21:52

    JMom I don’t know why most churches seem to be that way anymore.

    Glad your having zucchini tonight. It is so good.

    Reply

  3. Glenna
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 00:00:18

    Oh wow! You have so much going on. I’m amazed you can keep it all straight–but fantastic for you!

    I hear you about the church thing. I got tired of constantly being pressured to be exactly like everyone else. Where’s the fun and joy in that?

    Reply

  4. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 04:47:30

    Hey Glenna, I have a lot of help.

    My DH is a workaholic and he never wastes time watching TV or surfing the net like I often do.

    Reply

  5. Sue
    Jul 02, 2008 @ 09:19:00

    While only a portion of the particular hay field shown belongs to us in the hay photo.

    The photo was posted to example the frivolous suggestion of putting up hay with a scythe must seem to some people.

    I have to laugh at the suggestion..sorry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
