Wild Blackberry and Coconut Ice Milk

Key Ingredient is hosting July’s KICK recipe contest and the key ingredient is berries.

Since blackberries are abundant around my home right now I came up with a Blackberry / Coconut Ice Milk.

Lower in calories than ice cream, I also used Splenda. It was better eaten immediately, as storing for later tended to make it crystallize.

I used Thai Kitchen Lite coconut milk, along with skim milk.


Wild Blackberry and Coconut Ice Milk

14 ounces coconut milk — lite
1 cup skim milk
3/4 cup splenda
1 tablespoon lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon rum extract
1 cup blackberries — wild, washed and drained

Heat all ingredients on stove top until about 170 degrees or just about to boil. Don’t allow to boil. Press down on the berries to extract juice into the milk and then cool in the refrigerator about 1 hour or more.

Strain out seeds and place milk into an ice cream maker. Follow manufacturers directions. Better if eaten immediately rather than trying to store it for later.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cookinpanda
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 08:16:41

    This sounds awesome! I love the idea of using coconut mlik, and I appreciate an icier texture to my ice cream anyway. This would go great with so many different fruits. Thanks!

    Reply

  2. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 11:29:47

    Thank you cookingpanda.

    I thought I was doing something unique using coconut milk, but then afterwards did a search and found several coconut ice creams using it.

    I guess just about nothing is unique in itself.

    Reply

  3. Christine
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 12:46:50

    This is very, very delicious looking ice milk. I love the idea of coconut milk and blackberries together and will try this when our berries ripen in August. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.
    I also think that I’ve done something unique only to find it later in a cooking magazine or on the Internet. It’s just us foodies channeling each other!

    Reply

  4. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 14:29:31

    Yes Christine we channel and then get upset that we aren’t original.

    Reply

  5. smallnotebook
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 17:13:09

    Those blackberries look so much nicer than the ones from the store. I can’t wait until we can grow some of our own.

    Reply

  6. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 17:24:57

    they are very good smallnotebook but ours are wild and we get the benefits. I would love to grow some as they could get bigger I think.

    Reply

  7. Kevin
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 18:55:39

    This looks really good!

    Reply

  8. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 20:09:14

    thanks kevin

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Columbus Foodie » Blog Archive » July 2008 Roundup

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

