Roasted New Potatoes

I have been so busy with canning and freezing, I have been slack doing much cooking.

What cooking I have done has been something like this simple smoked sausage stir fry with cabbage, zucchini, onion, summer squash and hot peppers with lemon pepper.

Or these Roasted New Potatoes.

Just quarter the potatoes and toss with olive oil. Salt with kosher salt and add fresh dill, rosemary, garlic, and marjoram. Roast in a 375 oven about 15 minutes then stir and roast another 10 – 15 until crispy.

I love gardening and putting up for the winter months but it takes a lot of time and energy.

I also made sauerkraut for the first time to can. It turned out well.

Just kosher salt and cabbage fermented about 3 weeks in a crock.

I used about 4 to 5 tablespoons kosher salt ( or canning salt) to 2 heads shredded cabbage. Then cover tightly with plastic wrap, pressing down and weighting on the cabbage with freezer bags filled with water. Make sure you use a crock, or non- metal utensils and container.

Cover that with a clean towel. Let it sit at room temperature until it ferments which should take at least two weeks, but more like 3 to 4 weeks.

It was easier than I had ever imagined. I have an awesome sausage and kraut recipe I make often, and this will be perfect for it.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. [eatingclub] vancouver || js
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 02:22:46

    So you didn’t have to do anything at all during the fermentation stage (3-4 weeks)? No changing of the towel and such? I’ve always been curious about the process but don’t dare to try it at home for fear.

    On another note, the roast potatoes look smashing!

    Reply

  2. Sue (coffeepot)
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 06:10:56

    Well no eatingclub , I didn’t do anything. I kept the towel covered with my crock lid. I have read recipes that say you need to de-skim but I didn’t even open mine until about 3 weeks and when I opened it didn’t need anything skimmed.

    Reply

  3. Karen
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 22:18:40

    Your “smoked sausage stir fry with cabbage, zucchini, onion, summer squash and hot peppers with lemon pepper” makes my mouth water. I have sausage in my freezer and my garden is producing all the vegetables you’ve listed. I’m trying to improve my stir fry technique. Would you share with me the quantities of the ingredients and cooking instructions.

    Reply

  4. Sue (coffeepot)
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 14:08:20

    Karen I would love to, but I really just threw it all together in a rush and don’t actually remember.

    Sorry. Thanks for the comment.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Sausage, Potatoes, and Sauerkraut « Coffee & Cornbread

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
