Eggrolls

I often make eggrolls with some grated carrot, sweet and
hot peppers, green onion, cabbage, soy sauce, ginger and
a little sherry to taste.

The filling needs to be cooked well in advance to cool, because it will
tear the homemade wrappers if hot.

The wrappers are

2 c all purpose flour
1/2 t salt
1 beaten egg
about 1/2 c water ( more or less) to form a stiff dough.

Let the dough rest about 10-15 minutes then roll and cut to size.

Place in cooled filling, roll and then pop into your deep fryer. I usually get 8 – 10 large rolls, according to how much cabbage I have used.

Drain on paper towells and
they come out looking something like this.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Coffee and Vanilla
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 06:37:28

    I hardly ever deep fry because I try to loose some weight, but if not that I would make your egg rolls immediately… they look soooo delicious!!

    Enjoy your weekend, Margot

    Reply

  2. Sue
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 01:50:09

    Thanks Margot. I don’t like to deep fry too much either anymore.

    Reply

  3. Sue
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 08:08:18

    I meant to mention I tried baking these once and didn’t like them at all that way.

    Reply

  4. Lance
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 18:43:10

    I stumbled upon your blog today and found it quite interesting. I will peg this as one of my favorites and i will be back.

    Nice looking site.

    Lance

    Reply

  5. Sue
    Sep 23, 2008 @ 07:27:34

    Thanks Lance.

    Reply

  6. craftyjuicebroker
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 16:36:08

    Eggrolls look delicious!

    *Free giveaway on my blog!!!
    http://craftyjuicebroker.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  7. Sue
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 18:46:59

    Thanks crafty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

