Swiss Chard with Cranberries

I still am harvesting tons of swiss chard.

When I saw Racheal Ray do a swiss chard with cranberries on Food Network, I knew I had to try it. I loved it so much I am going to do it for Thanksgiving.

It just involves rendering bacon with onion.

Then adding the swiss chard and salt to wilt down.

You then get about 3/4 cup of dried cranberries and cover them with red wine. I used a Merlot.

Microwave these about one minute to plump up, and then pour over the wilted chard. For a final touch add a dash or two of nutmeg.

I loved it!
My family will enjoy this as another Thankgiving side for years to come, I hope!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ali
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 21:00:29

    Wow, does that sound good! Unfortunately a cold snap did in the chard that was not in the hoop house so I’ll have to see if I can find some chard elsewhere to try this. It sounds delicious! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

  2. Andrea
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 21:16:42

    This looks very tasty! It would make a lovely Grow Your Own post.

    Reply

  3. Julie
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 11:09:18

    That looks wonderful, but I think my family would snarl at me if I tried to feed them this. Maybe someday….

    Reply

  4. Sue
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 14:56:06

    Ali I hope you can round some up,

    Andrea yes it would make a great grow your own post. I am sorry I haven’t applied for many roundups of late. It seems I am too busy or just too lazy?

    Julie I think if they tried it they might like it.

    Reply

  5. David Santos
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 08:50:10

    Good menu and good food! Congratulations!!!

    Reply

  6. john
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 14:42:30

    Thanks for the recipe. Sounds terrific!

    A little recommendation, I found these to be so delicious and useful in my kitchen: http://bajoseasonedsalts.com/

    Cheers.

    John

    Reply

  7. Sue
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 16:46:43

    Thank you David.

    Reply

  8. Carolyn T at tastingspoons.com
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 12:43:50

    Wow, your photos are great, Sue. Makes my mouth water. I did go look at Rachel’s recipe – it had garlic and chicken broth added too. Did you not do that part, I’d guess? My hubby adores chard, so will have to make this really soon.

    Reply

  9. Susan from Food Blogga
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 21:03:50

    What a unique pairing. I love them both, so I’m sure I’d love them together.

    Reply

  10. Sue
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 17:27:03

    Hey carolyn and susan,

    I didn’t add the garlic or chicken broth because the show I saw didn’t add those things….hummm

    It was really good and hubby loves them so it is something I might be making even outside of Thanksgiving.

    Reply

  11. Carolyn T at tastingspoons.com
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 00:08:21

    Oh my – this dish was SO good. I wouldn’t change a thing. Thanks so much for finding this recipe. It will likely become a regular on our dinner menus. I really liked the pairing with the cranberries – I probably used less of them than the recipe called for (probably 1/4 cup). I also didn’t use as much stock at the end – it ends up just staying in the pan and not eaten, so I only used about 1/4 cup or less. I’m writing this up for my blog, too (it will post tomorrow, December 8th). Thanks, Sue.

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Tasting Spoons » Blog Archive » Swiss Chard (or any dark greens) with Cranberries
  13. Sue
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 06:09:01

    Thank you Carolyn!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

