A Pie?

Jambalaya and a crawfish pie and file’ gumbo
‘Cause tonight i’m gonna see my ma cher amio
Pick guitar, fill fruit jar and be gay-o
Son of a gun, well have big fun on the bayou

We had flooding last night in our area. The rain came down in buckets here.

I awoke to see our ponds filled to overflowing, and the creeks rushing like they were late for an appointment.

The dogs were carrying on in our driveway like a pack of wild animals. I am used to having the dogs act like that over a mud turtle that might have strayed from the ponds, or a poor rabbit that got in their way.

I was not prepared for what I saw when I checked out the commotion.

One of the biggest crawfish I had ever seen in these parts! It was snapping and trying to ward off the wild pack of enemies.

I ran to the house and got my old garden gloves to rescue the critter.How in the world the thing got so misplaced is a puzzle. I am sure the creeks could not flow into our driveway.

I placed it in a bucket to show hubby and take this picture. I am going to release it later into one of the creeks. It got me to thinking that I have never tasted crawfish, and didn’t even have a clue as to what that song was written about…Crawfish pie.

It would take a pound of these misplaced critters for one of those pies. Honestly I am glad I only have one.

I am sure I would try someone else’s “pie”, and here is someone elses recipe taken from About.com.

Crawfish Pie

* 1 med. to large onion
* 3 stalks of celery
* 6 to 8 cloves of garlic
* 1 can of cream of mushroom soup
* 1 can light or regular evaporated milk
* 1 pound of crawfish tails
* 5 tablespoons of cornstarch
* pie crust for 2-crust pie

Preparation:
Preheat oven to 350°. Sauté onions, celery and garlic in butter or olive oil. Add milk and soup; bring to medium boil. Add crawfish, bring to medium boil again then add corn starch. Lower heat and cook for another 10 minutes or until thick.
Grease pie shell w/butter and place pie shell in bottom of pan then add thickened mixture. Put on top shell and bake at 350°
for 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

