Rhubarb Crisp

April 14, 2010 at 2:05 pm 2 comments

Spring and Rhubarb..a winning combination!

My rhubarb plant is 2 years old, so I figured it was time to make a Rhubarb Crisp. I didn’t cut last year so they could establish themself in their new home, my garden.

The first year was hard on them because they developed some sort of swiss cheese look. I blogged about my ailing Rhubarb here.
Ailing Rhubarb

They came out of it last year but I left good enough alone to get good and healthy.

Here is this year, 2010.

I have harvest enough so far to make a crisp that I love. When harvesting Rhubarb make sure you wear gloves and discard any leaves, as the leaves are poison. Better to be safe than sorry.

I have heard of the leaves being used to make insecticide. I may have to look into that later this spring.

Rhubarb Crisp

for filling-
1 pound rhubarb stalks, all leaves removed, diced
1/4 cup water
3/4 cup sugar
1 tablespoon flour
1 drop red food coloring

for topping-
1/4 cup light margarine softened
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup oats
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Place the filling ingredients in a medium sausepan and bring to a boil while stirring until thickened.

Simmer while you put together the topping by placing all topping ingredients in a small bowl and cutting the ingredients with a fork until crummy.

Pour the filling in a sprayed pie pan and place the topping on top of that evenly.

Bake in a preheated 350 oven for about 40 – 45 minutes, until topping is browned and filling bubbly. Cool and serve at room temperature, or slightly warm.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

Mashed Potato Cakes 2010 Garden

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine  |  April 17, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    I have rhubarb plant too and i’m always looking for recipes to use it with.
    thanks for sharing this.

    Reply
  • 2. katie  |  April 22, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    I love Rhubarb Crisp! Haven’t been able to grow it though, don’t know why, but I’m buying it. Just making sauce. I don’t do the sweets anymore as the hubs can’t eat them… I’ll just enjoy yours!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posting Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Currently on Coffee & Cornbread

Coffee & Cornbread Archives

My Flickr Photos

thing2

thing1and2

thing1

More Photos

Blog Visits

  • 212,111 hits

Food Blog Search

What Spice Are You

You Are Cilantro

The bad news is that
there are some people
who can't stand you.
The good news is that
most people love you more
than anything else in the world.
You are distinct, unusual, fresh,
and very controversial.
And you wouldn't have it
any other way.

What Spice Are You?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

