Cauliflower Pizza Crust

image

Is nothing sacred?  I can’t believe I want to mess around with pizza, of all things.

I love pizza crust but I want to eat a little healthier and this cauliflower crust seemed healthy.

image

The good news is it tasted awesome. The bad news is it fell apart in the middle. We ate it with a fork.

I topped it with sauce, salami, hamburger, mushrooms, green peppers,  onion and of course mozzarella.

I’m not sure if it fell apart because I didn’t bake it long enough before topping, or if I just piled on too much topping.

image

Anyway it was good enough that I will try again. Maybe baking it 30 minutes before topping instead of 20.  Also holding back a little of the sauce.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

2 1/2 cups ground cauliflower (use a food processor
1 teaspoon dried Italian herbs
1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup mozzarella cheese
salt
1 egg, slightly beaten

Preheat oven to 425. Place processed cauliflower in a microwave safe bowl with cover. Microwave covered for 4 minutes.  Stir to cool it off a little. Place cauliflower in a fine mesh strainer and use a spatula to press cauliflower against strainer, pushing out liquid. Use several paper towels and press down to absorb more liquid. Place cauliflower in a bowl and fluff with a fork. Add Italian season,  Parmesan, and mozzarella. Mix well and taste. Add salt to taste. Add egg and stir to blend completely.

Press mixture out onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper that’s been sprayed.
Press out to about 1/4 inch or slightly thicker. Keep mixture tight together and in an even layer.

Place pan in oven and bake  golden brown. Generally 15-20 minutes, it should be starting to brown on top. Remove from oven, top with desired toppings, and return to oven long enough to melt cheese. Let rest for a couple of minutes. Slice and serve.

image

Or if yours falls apart like mine did just dip it out and eat with a fork. It still tastes wonderful.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alahamilton
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:33:53

    I’m glad you shared this. I have a few family members who eat gluten free so I was thinking about trying something like this out but I’m definitely going to cook mine longer before like you said.. I love sauce too much to sacrifice it!
    Ala
    https://pineatenjoy.wordpress.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
