Tortillas and Disillusionment

image

My mind pictures this wonderful, plyable, bendable, fillable tortilla made with cauliflower.

I see them all over the internet, rolled, bendable, perfect, and cauliflower based, but this is how mine end up.
image

I have come to a conclusion that I will never be able to substitute cauliflower for flour. I’m not saying others don’t have success. I simply don’t.

With Cinco De Mayo coming up next week I need usable tortillas. While mine never come out perfectly round, I can fill and bend them without looking like an earthquake struck.
image
image

Homemade Flour Tortillas

2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons oil of your choice
Water to form a stiff dough

Mix all with a fork until a stiff dough forms. Divide into golf ball size pieces and flatten. Roll each piece individual with a rolling pin to a tortillas shape. Fry on a hot griddle flipping once.

Bend, fill, and eat, as desired.
Make 8 tortillas at 120 calories each

One thought on “Tortillas and Disillusionment

Leave a comment