Fathers Day – Copycat Montreal Grill Seasoning

I hope everyone reading had a great Fathers Day.


lol..

We did, and Fathers Day around this house would only be complete with a grilled steak.

Here is a great grill seasoning you can put together yourself. We always use this on our grilled steak and it is also good on homefries or pork. I got this several years back at CDKitchen. We have been avid users ever since. It is usually good to rub on and let sit a couple of hours to season.

This is a wonderful grill mix. I grind it fine because it works better for me that way.

Copycat Montreal Grill Seasoning

4 tablespoons salt
1 tablespoon black pepper
1 tablespoon dried onion flakes
1/2 tablespoon dried garlic
1/2 tablespoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 tablespoon dried thyme
1/2 tablespoon died rosemary
1/2 tablespoon crushed fennel seed

Place all in a spice grinder and grind fine. Rub on steaks or pork before grilling.

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kalyn
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 11:51:18

    Going to try it, but with less Salt because my stepmother needs to avoid salt.

    Reply

  2. Sue
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 12:16:15

    Kalyn I hope you like it as much as we do.

    Reply

  3. Lydia (The Perfect Pantry)
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 09:54:10

    Fun to make your own and tinker with the proportions a bit — and like Kalyn, I’ll cut the salt a bit.

    Reply

  4. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 14:37:05

    Yes it is good to tinker Lydia. I hope you enjoy it also.

    Reply

  5. Kevin
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 19:18:02

    Those steaks look good! I usually just end up doing a simple salt and pepper but this spice mix makes me want to try something new.

    Reply

  6. coffeepot
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 19:23:36

    Kevin thanks, we really do enjoy this rub.

    Reply

  7. Scott
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 22:32:14

    I tend to avoid the “standard” seasoning mixes, but I always have a jar of Montreal around. We like to sprinkle a little on canned asparagus with a squeeze of lemon. Chilled, it makes a nice summer time side dish. It sounds like a bad Sandra Lee “Semi-Homemade” thing, but it’s actually quite nice.

    Reply

  8. coffeepot
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 22:51:57

    Thanks for the info Scott, I bet it would be good on asparagus.

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Steamed Carrots with Mint and an Award « Coffee & Cornbread
  10. Trackback: Father’s Day Grill Seasoning | Kitchen in Transition
  11. tempe carpet cleaning
    May 02, 2013 @ 22:25:45

    whoah this weblog is wonderful i like reading your posts.
    Stay up the great paintings! You know, many persons are hunting round for this information, you can help them greatly.

    I savor, result in I found exactly what I was having a look for.

    You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

    Reply

  12. Monty
    May 03, 2013 @ 01:11:51

    As a Newbie, I am permanently exploring online for articles that can benefit me.

    Thank you

    Reply

  13. Nannie
    May 14, 2013 @ 07:44:37

    Add garlic, ginger, red bell pepper, and pepper flakes to the pan and cook together a couple of minutes, then add peanut butter and melt
    it. That’s where desiccant dehumidification comes into the picture. The odor can smell like moldy must or worse than that.

    Reply

  14. michael thurman body make over
    May 15, 2013 @ 12:50:02

    This slim and light tablet comes with specifications that provides high computing power.
    As you progress to the next higher level,
    the game becomes tougher. Some manufacturers call their product a Cover while others use the name Case.

    Reply

  15. massachusetts auto insurance rate
    May 17, 2013 @ 01:58:57

    So you only have to remember one single master password or select the key
    file to unlock the whole database. Whereas some cameras will auto-focus while doing video, others do not which
    is something else to consider. Since it is an
    HD radio, it produces clear treble and bass tones, and has static radio reception.

    Reply

  16. saint petersburg florida
    May 18, 2013 @ 19:22:25

    Good way of telling, and pleasant article to obtain facts about my presentation focus,
    which i am going to present in institution of higher education.

    Reply

  17. mother of the bride dresses
    May 27, 2013 @ 05:18:41

    What a data of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable familiarity concerning unpredicted emotions.

    Reply

  18. Trackback: Copycat Montreal Grill Seasoning | Recipe Archive
  19. Ilene
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 05:08:01

    Right here is the right blog for anyone who wishes to understand this topic. You know a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a new spin on a subject which has been written about for decades. Great stuff, just great!

    Reply

  20. CAYLOR
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 22:07:45

    Thank you regarding sharing this particular effortlessly people you really recognise what you really are communicating approximately! Book marked. You should as well go to this site Equates to) Ways Of Losing Weight. We will use a url switch contract amongst people

    Reply

  21. u love carpets Reviews
    Sep 20, 2014 @ 20:26:44

    What’s up i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace, when i
    read this article i thought i could also create comment due to
    this brilliant piece of writing.

    Reply

  22. cheap carpets Rugs
    Sep 21, 2014 @ 03:17:38

    It’s impressive that you are getting thoughts from this article as
    well as from our dialogue made at this time.

    Reply

  23. cheap Carpets uk
    Sep 21, 2014 @ 03:44:51

    I have read a few excellent stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for
    revisiting. I wonder how a lot attempt you place to make one of these great informative web site.

    Reply

  24. Cheap Carpets Installed
    Sep 21, 2014 @ 04:00:30

    Appreciation to my father who informed me on the topic of this web site, this website is genuinely
    awesome.

    Reply

  25. Octavia
    Sep 21, 2014 @ 06:42:34

    Touche. Solid arguments. Keep up the amazing effort.

    Reply

  26. airdyne Bikes
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 10:27:34

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after
    going through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely pleased I discovered it and I’ll
    be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

    Reply

  27. motorola radio accessories
    Sep 29, 2014 @ 16:07:13

    Everything is very open with a precise description of the
    challenges. It was really informative. Your website is very useful.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  28. Cormar Carpets Primo Plus
    Sep 30, 2014 @ 08:19:14

    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to
    be precisely what I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to
    write content for you? I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write regarding here.

    Again, awesome web log!

    Reply

  29. Janice Wald
    Apr 25, 2015 @ 15:55:52

    Hi Coffeepot,
    How cool to have you in my community of readers!
    Thanks for dropping by today. Glad you liked my new post.
    I am having grilled food tonight. I like your header. We love cornbread. Drinking coffee now LOL
    Thanks again for the visit
    Janice

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

