Tomato Basil Soup

I figured I better make some tomato soup before the frost gets all my Basil. Here we have grilled cheddar tortillas with Tomato Basil Soup. Our tomatoes are gone now, but I used some of the roasted ones I stored in our freezer. This is so easy. The hardest thing is the mess you make when running the soup through the food processor. Maybe someone else would not be a messy as me.


3 pounds tomatoes chopped, ( I used frozen garden, roasted tomatoes)

1 chopped onion

3 cloves garlic

½ cup packed basil leaves

1  cup chicken broth

 ground salt and pepper, to taste

Cream as needed

Parmesan cheese, for a tangy, flavor enhancing flavor

 tablespoon or two of butter, for richer flavor


Just boil the chopped tomatoes with chicken broth,onion, garlic, and basil in a soup pot. Add the salt and pepper to taste.

Allow to cool a bit, then run soup through food processor until smooth. 

Pour back into your pot and add cream to the consistency you would like. I added about 1/2 cup.

Heat, but don’t allow to boil. Add parmesan and butter, then serve.

Leave a comment