Waiter There’s Something In My…Pie!

No matter how I try and diet I have to splurge now and again.

When Cook Sister announced the Feb. “Waiter There’s Something In My” subject was pie, I knew I had to do my very favorite pie..Pizza.

The thing was it needed to be a closed pie. Calzone was the way to go.

Even though I am dieting it was a splurge I tried to cut back on a bit by replacing the ricotta with fat free cottage cheese.

I had to used canned mushrooms because that was all I had on hand at the time.

Cottage Cheese, Pepperoni and Mushroom Calzones

CRUST
2 T evoo
1 C warm water
3 C unbleached flour
3/4 t salt
1 packet yeast
2 T dried italian herbs (or equal parts dried basil, oregano and thyme)

Put all crust ingredients in a bread machine in order. Put machine
on pizza crust setting. When finished divide into 4 balls and roll
each out in a large circle.

FILLING part 1
1 C Fat Free cottage cheese
2 T chopped parsley
1/4 C chopped green onion
1 t garlic salt

Combine all ingredients of filling part 1 in a separate bowl.
Divide in 4 parts.

FILLING part 2
1/2 C favorite pizza sauce
1/2 C sliced pepperoni
small can sliced mushrooms, drained
4 ounces part skim mozzarella cheese

Divide all fillings into 4 parts and mound equally into the center of each rolled crust circle.

Fold each in half and seal edges well. Place on a large sheet pan
and poke holes in each top for steam to escape. Brush each top well
with 1 beaten egg white or 1/4 C eggbeater.

Bake in a 400 degree oven about 25 minutes until browned.

5 thoughts on “Waiter There’s Something In My…Pie!

  1. Oh my… I haven’t had calzone for the longest time and these look sooooo tempting! And being a pizza fanatic, I am duly impressed at a closed rendition of the sacred pie 😉 Photos are truly mouth-watering as well. Thanks for a fantastic contribution to WTSIM and hope to see you again next month!

Leave a comment