Waiter There’s Something In My…Pie!

February 23, 2007 at 9:05 pm 5 comments

No matter how I try and diet I have to splurge now and again.

When Cook Sister announced the Feb. “Waiter There’s Something In My” subject was pie, I knew I had to do my very favorite pie..Pizza.

The thing was it needed to be a closed pie. Calzone was the way to go.

Even though I am dieting it was a splurge I tried to cut back on a bit by replacing the ricotta with fat free cottage cheese.

I had to used canned mushrooms because that was all I had on hand at the time.

Cottage Cheese, Pepperoni and Mushroom Calzones

CRUST
2 T evoo
1 C warm water
3 C unbleached flour
3/4 t salt
1 packet yeast
2 T dried italian herbs (or equal parts dried basil, oregano and thyme)

Put all crust ingredients in a bread machine in order. Put machine
on pizza crust setting. When finished divide into 4 balls and roll
each out in a large circle.

FILLING part 1
1 C Fat Free cottage cheese
2 T chopped parsley
1/4 C chopped green onion
1 t garlic salt

Combine all ingredients of filling part 1 in a separate bowl.
Divide in 4 parts.

FILLING part 2
1/2 C favorite pizza sauce
1/2 C sliced pepperoni
small can sliced mushrooms, drained
4 ounces part skim mozzarella cheese

Divide all fillings into 4 parts and mound equally into the center of each rolled crust circle.

Fold each in half and seal edges well. Place on a large sheet pan
and poke holes in each top for steam to escape. Brush each top well
with 1 beaten egg white or 1/4 C eggbeater.

Bake in a 400 degree oven about 25 minutes until browned.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

I guess I’ll type about it now.. Smoked Sausage and White Bean Soup- WHB

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sher  |  February 23, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Oh wow!! That looks sooo good! I’m seriously craving one of those right now!

    Reply
  • 2. Freya  |  February 24, 2007 at 5:08 am

    Looks delicious! I prefer calzone to pizza and these have a great filling!

    Reply
  • 3. Susan from Food "Blogga"  |  February 24, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    Hey! I just posted a calzone for WTSIM too! Your crust looks so beautiful! I used oil instead of egg, but I’ll have to try the egg wash sometime.

    Reply
  • 4. Kristen  |  February 24, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    I never would have thought to use this for that event. You are so creative! Those look like fantastic calzones!

    Reply
  • 5. Jeanne  |  February 25, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    Oh my… I haven’t had calzone for the longest time and these look sooooo tempting! And being a pizza fanatic, I am duly impressed at a closed rendition of the sacred pie ;-) Photos are truly mouth-watering as well. Thanks for a fantastic contribution to WTSIM and hope to see you again next month!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posting Calendar

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Currently on Coffee & Cornbread

Coffee & Cornbread Archives

My Flickr Photos

thing2

thing1and2

thing1

More Photos

Blog Visits

  • 213,939 hits

Food Blog Search

What Spice Are You

You Are Cilantro

The bad news is that
there are some people
who can't stand you.
The good news is that
most people love you more
than anything else in the world.
You are distinct, unusual, fresh,
and very controversial.
And you wouldn't have it
any other way.

What Spice Are You?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

